Academy of Podcasters Reveals 2018 Hall of Fame Inductees

The Academy of Podcasters is a group of influential contributors to the podcast community who come together every year to vote on the winners of the annual Academy of Podcasters awards. These contributors are also in charge of voting annual inductees into the Hall of Fame. The Academy of Podcasters has revealed their 2018 Hall of Fame Inductees.

Chemda Keith and the Girl
Keith Malley– Keith and the Girl
Best known as hosts of the comedy podcast Keith and the Girl, Keith Malley and Chemda have been putting out daily shows since March 2005. Many of today’s top podcasters credit KATG as being pioneers that got them into the podcasting world!

Dave JacksonSchool of Podcasting
Dave Jackson is an award-winning podcaster who has been podcasting since 2005, and has been the host of nearly a dozen different podcasts over the last decade. Dave is best known as the host of School of Podcastingwhere he has helped thousands of new and experienced podcasters to launch their shows and become better hosts.

Father Roderick VonHögen – The Daily Breakfast
Father Roderick VonHögen is a Roman Catholic priest from the Netherlands who works as a new media broadcaster and television presenter of programming related to Catholicism and pop culture. He is best known for starting the Star Quest Production Network, the leading Catholic podcasting platform, in 2005, and as the host of The Walk and The Daily Breakfast.

Grant BacioccoThe Radio Adventures of Dr. Floyd
Grant Baciocco is a content creator and performer who is on the forefront of all things new media. In 2004 he created the popular, family friendly podcast, The Radio Adventures of Dr. Floyd, which has been releasing episodes ever since.

Pamela GayAstronomy Cast
Dr. Pamela Gay is an astronomer, writer, and podcaster who uses new media to engage people in science and technology. She is best known as the host of Astronomy Cast where each week she takes listeners on facts-based journeys through our Cosmos.

Reggie Ossé Aka Combat Jack – Loud Speakers Podcast Network & The Combat Jack Show
Reggie Ossé (July 8, 1964 – December 20, 2017) was a hip hop music attorney, executive, founding partner of the Loud Speakers Podcast Network, and host of the podcast The Combat Jack Show. He was also the host of Gimlet’s MOGUL.  Ossé will be inducted posthumously this summer in Philadelphia.

Scott Johnson – Frogpants Studios
Scott Johnson is a cartoonist, illustrator, designer and podcaster. In 2008, Johnson launched FrogPants Studios, an illustration and audio production company, and has since put out over a dozen different podcasts, including the award winning Film Sack, and The Morning Stream.

The Academy of Podcasters 2017 Award Winners

The Academy of Podcasters has a mission to celebrate and honor the achievements of contributors to the podcast community. The 2017 Academy of Podcasters Awards & Hall of Fame Ceremony was held at Podcast Movement 2017. A list of the official winners of the 2017 Academy of Podcasters Awards has been posted.

The 2017 Winners are:

  • Arts – Twenty Thousand Hertz
  • Business – Stacking Benjamins
  • Comedy – Comedy Bang Bang
  • Education – The Brookings Cafeteria
  • Fictional – Podcastle
  • Food – Food Non Fiction
  • Games & Hobbies – Drunks & Dragons
  • Health – Dr. Drew
  • History – Ben Franklin’s World
  • Kids & Family – Alien Adventures of Finn Caspian
  • Music – Song Exploder
  • News & Politics – In The Dark
  • Religion & Spirituality – Meditation Minis
  • Science & Medicine – Brainstuff
  • Society & Culture – Stuff You Should Know
  • Sports & Recreation – Something to Wrestle
  • Technology – Note to Self
  • TV & Film – The Blacklist Exposed

A podcaster qualifies as a member of the Academy of Podcasters by either being an award recipient, being inducted into the Hall of Fame, or via appointment by the Board. The 2017 awards ceremony included the induction of five legends into the Podcast Hall of Fame.