Academy of Podcasters Hall of Fame Inductees 2016

Academy of Podcasters Awards and HOF 2016The Academy of Podcasters s a group of influential contributors to the podcast space who will come together every year to vote on the winners of the annual Awards. They are also in charge of voting on annual inductees to the Hall of Fame. The 2016 Hall of Fame inductees have been selected.

This is the second time that the Academy of Podcasters has selected Hall of Fame inductees. (The first time was in 2015). The 2016 inductees will be inducted on July 6, 2016, at the Academy of Podcasters Awards and Hall of Fame Ceremony.

Two of the 2015 Hall of Fame inductees are the creators of one of the world’s longest running podcasts, The Dawn and Drew Show. It started in 2004. Dawn Miceli is the first female podcaster. She is also an accomplished musician with an album by Smitten Bayou. Drew Domkus has been working with new media since the mid 1990s. He has produced content for Mevio and Sirius Satellite.

Gary Leland recorded his first podcast “The Sport’s Podcast” in December of 2004. In 2005, he created The Podcast Pickle website, which was one of the first directories and user forums dedicated to the growth of podcasting. “The Sport’s Podcast” has evolved into the FastPitch Radio Network, and is part of the Fastpitch.TV Network.

Mignon Fogarty is best known by her online persona, Grammar Girl. She is the creator and host of the Grammar Girl podcast and the founder of Quick and Dirty Tips, which began as a podcasting network and is now, in partnership with Macmillan Holdings, also a large content website that is home to 16 other podcasts.

Rob Walch is the Vice President of Podcaster Relations for Libsyn Prior to joining Libsyn in 2007, he was the host of podCast411 (which began in 2004.) Rob Walch is also a monthly columnist for Podertainment The Podcast Magazine.