Tag Archives: Audio Production Awards

UK’s Audio Production Awards Goes Online for 2020

AudioUK has announced that the winners of this year’s Audio Production Awards (APAs) will be announced online on Thursday 26th November. All the usual 20 awards will be included, plus an additional category to recognize content produced in reaction to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The APAs, organized by AudioUK, celebrate the craft skills behind radio, podcast and audiobook production, with a ceremony normally taking place on London’s South Bank. Due to ongoing uncertainties resulting from the coronavirus pandemic, this year’s APAs will be adapted for an online celebration.

As always there will be awards for the best producer in comedy, arts, factual, podcasts, audiobooks as well as a range of best presenter/narrator awards, plus the special Gold award and the ‘Production Company of the Year’. Once again, the ‘Grassroots Production’ category will celebrate producers, teams and organizations working close to their communities, and this category will be free to enter, recognizing the particular challenges faced in that part of the sector.

In addition there will be a new ‘Life in Lockdown Award’, for innovative and/or creative production during the UK’s official COVID-19 lockdown period from 23 March to 10 May 2020.Unless specifically stated otherwise, every category is open to all forms of audio, which includes radio (broadcast via airwaves or online) and all podcast/downloadable/non-broadcast audio.

The APAs, which will accept entries from today until noon on Friday 18 September, are open to production talent from across the whole of the UK, with the entry fee frozen again at 2018’s price of £35+VAT for AudioUK members and £45+VAT for non-members.

Full details are at https://audioproductionawards.awardstage.com.

Audio Production Awards 2019 Nominations Announced

The list of nominations has been released for the 2019 Audio Production Awards (APAs), the premier awards for production skills across radio, audiobooks, and podcasting. The APAs, sponsored by leading audiobook publisher Audible, will be presented at a Gala event on Thursday 28 November, hosted by TV and radio presenter, Tommy Sandhu.

Nominees are from across UK production talent, including audio production companies, in-house producers and freelance producers of radio, podcasts, and audiobooks. Out-of-London companies featured range from Gusman in Falkirk to Sweet Talk in Sussex, via Allergra Productions in Suffolk, and Manchester’s Audio Always and Sparklab.

Nominees include Dame Kelly Holmes, shortlisted for the “New Voice Award”, and DJ Smoochie Shy (“Best Presenter”), while producers Cathy FitzGerald and Hana Walker-Brown each receive three nominations. David Walliams is nominated for Audio Performer of the Year.

The Grassroots Production Award, celebrating working with new and diverse talent, includes nominations for the Prison Radio Association and Radio Wanno at HMP Wandsworth, alongside Carousel, a Brighton-based charity helping learning-disabled artists develop their creative lives through radio and podcast projects, and Amliah, which works with Muslim women.

One easy way to see the full list of nominations is to visit the AudioUK Twitter account @WeAreAudioUK. They have posted a series of Tweets with details about who all of the nominees are. Tickets for the Thursday 28 November event are available through eventbrite.