Pulitzer Announced New Audio Reporting Category

The Pulitzer Prize Board announced a new Journalism prize category for the 2020 prize cycle: Audio Reporting.

“The renaissance of audio journalism in recent years has given rise to an extraordinary array of non-fiction storytelling. To recognize the best of that work, the Pulitzer Board is launching an experimental category to honor it,” Pulitzer Administrator Dana Canedy said.

The new prize will be awarded “For a distinguished example of audio journalism that serves the public interest, characterized by revelatory reporting and illuminating storytelling.”

The Board invites submissions from producers of radio programs and podcasts that exemplify the excellence the Pulitzer Prizes have honored for more than a century. Competitive entries will reflect the work the Prizes has championed traditionally, from investigative reporting that exposes wrongdoing to dynamic features, and news coverage of major issues or events.

Here is who is eligible to enter this new category:

  •  News organizations who are currently eligible to compete for the Pulitzer Prize – U.S. newspapers, magazines, wire services and online news sites that publish regularly, can enter audio stories in this new category
  •  Independent American producers
  •  U.S. radio and other broadcast outlets

To qualify, the audio must:

  • Adhere to the highest journalistic principles
  • A commitment to honest with both audiences and subjects
  • Rigorous and transparent sourcing
  • Audio must have been aired during the 2019 calendar year

The contest for Audio Reporting and all other Journalism categories will open on December 16, 2019, and deadline is January 24, 2020, at 5 p.m. Eastern Time. Audio entries must be submitted without preroll advertising.